Preservation Society VP selected to mayor-elect’s transition team

Preservation Society Vice President James Souza has been selected to serve on Mayor-Elect Paul Coogan’s transition team’s Arts, Culture and Tourism Subcommittee.

Coogan announced a 62-member transition team on November 22, 2019, that included eight subcommittees: Finance; Economic and Workforce Development; Housing and Urban Development; Public Safety and Health; Education; Arts, Culture and Tourism; Infrastructure, Environment and Community Maintenance; and Public Integrity.

Arts, Culture and Tourism

Patrick Norton: Executive Director, Narrows Center for the Arts (Chair)
Sandy Dennis: Co-Founder, Creative Arts Network
James Souza: Owner, New Boston Bakery; Vice President, Preservation Society of Fall River
Walter Fraze, Jr.: Owner, Walter Fraze, Jr. Law Office
Kathleen Castro: Professor of Arts & Humanities, Bristol Community College
Scott Lopes: Assistant Vice President of Training & Development, BayCoast Bank
Tony Rodrigues: World Language Instructor, BMC Durfee High School

Finance Transition Team

Joan Medeiros: Vice President, Bristol County Savings Bank (Chair)
Carlos Da Cunha: Senior Vice President & Senior Lending Officer, St. Anne’s Credit Union
Jose Pacheco: Owner, Pacheco Realty Company
Carl Taber: Executive Vice President & Chief Lending Officer, Bay Coast Bank
William Eccles, Jr.: President & CEO, Bank 5
Matthew Schondek: President & CEO, Fall River Municipal Credit Union
Robert Camara: Public Employees Representative, City of Fall River; Retired Fall River Fire Department
Sergeant Joseph Castro: Member FRPD; Chairman of the Insurance Advisory Committee, City of Fall River

Economic and Workforce Development

Joseph Marshall: Founder & President J. Marshall and Associates (Chair)
Karl Hetzler: President, H&S Tool; President, Fall River Industrial Park Association
Frank Marchione: President & CEO Boardwalk Crossing; President, Bristol County EDC
Michael Lund: President, Borden Light Marina, Inc.
Louis Gonsalves: Owner, Juiced Cafe
Michael Benevides: Owner, Portugulia Marketplace
Diane Nadeau: Executive Director, Bristol County Training Consortium (Retired)
James Pimental: Vice President/Organizer, Bricklayers, Local 3
Bradford Higson: Owner, Higson Seafood

Housing and Urban Development

Ronald Rusin: Owner, Ron Rusin Real Estate (Chair)
Carole Fiola: State Representative, 6th Bristol District
Steven Long: City Councilor, City of Fall River
Deb Fastino: Director, Coalition for Social Justice
Kathleen Schedler Clark: Executive Director, Steppingstone, Inc.
David Underhill: Member, Fall River Housing Authority; Member, Joint Tenant Council; Member, Fall River Housing Authority
Aaron Tetrault: Owner, Fall River Pawn Brokers

Public Safety and Health

Mark Costa, Assistant Chief Probation Officer (Chair)
Thomas Quinn, Bristol County District Attorney
John LaPointe, Fall River Police Department (Retired)
Alan Silvia, State Representative, 7th Bristol District
Natalie Mello, President Bank Street Neighborhood Association
Carlos Caesar, President Flint Neighborhood Association
James Cusick, Fall River Fire Department (Retired)
Laura Ferreira Washington, Program Director, Steppingstone, Inc.
Dr. Henry Vaillancourt, Director of Public Health, City of Fall River (Retired)


Traci Almeida: Coordinator of Graduate Admissions & Licensure, UMass Dartmouth (Chair)
Dr. Armand Desmarais: Professor Emeritus, UMass Dartmouth
Melissa Panchley: Senior Property Manager, Karam Financial Group
Dr. Edward Costar: Administrator, Fall River Pubic Schools (Retired)
Rick Sahady: Administrator, Fall River Public Schools (Retired)
William Kelly: Professor Arts & Humanities, Bristol Community College (Retired)

Public Integrity

William Kenney: Attorney, Law Office William Kenney (Chair)
Rev. Robert Nemiocovick: Pastor, Blessed Trinity Church
Kim Gosson Almeida: Director of Benefits Operations, Brown University
Antonio Teixeira: Community Activist
William Whitty: Former Mayor & City Councilor President, City of Fall River
August Venice: Community Activist
Roberta Brooks Tetrault

Infrastructure, Environment and Community Maintenance

Rebecca Collins: President, Collins Construction, Inc. (Chair)
Daniel Raposa: Director of Buildings and Grounds, Fall River School Department (Retired)
Michael Grimo: IT Professional, Senior Executive, (Retired)
Byron Holmes: Engineer, City of Fall River (Retired)
Alfred J. Lima: Community Activist
Arnaldo Paquette: Community Activist; Former Director of Operations, BFI, Inc.
Terrance Sullivan: Director of Community Utilities, City of Fall River (Retired)
James Terrio: Director of Administrative Services Water Department; Clerk, Watuppa Water Board (Retired)
Michael Dunn: Senior Project Manager, Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Executive Office of Technology Services and Security

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: